Growing Up

Growing Up

I lack skill in the memory department, so trying to reminisce about growing up is proving to be quite a challenge.

Family is the word I am struggling to avoid, most likely because they are the people who have managed to shape the person that I have become. Family are the people that guided me through my first steps, praised me as I mumbled over my first word and wiped my mouth as I, persistently, kept attempting to demolish my first birthday cake. I loved nothing more than wasting each minute with my family, laughing about things that not many others would find worthy of a crooked smile.

I remember the memories we created with my grandparents in their caravan, just past Newcastle. We would spend weekends, Easter breaks and every moment of summer together in this compact container. I feel myself almost holding my breath as I think about the sleeping arrangements, with beds so compressed that I’m lucky to stay put throughout the night. I spent nights attempting to sleep with the constant bleats of noise in the field beyond my bed. The local clan of teenagers, clearly seeking something to rid them of their boredom, often enjoyed setting the whin buses alight. There would be sirens and havoc amongst the insignificant village within minutes. I recall every incident as if it were yesterday.

As everyone knows, schooling affects the development of a person whether it’s for the better, or for worse. I adored school, I loved to learn new things. I was always baffled by how much there was to learn about. Whereas, socially, I struggled. Oblivious, and wanting a mutual friendship, I always found myself grasping hold of those that I could never truly trust. On the idea that I was destined to have no friends, I restricted the time I spent with other people. To my surprise, I would later meet some people that would make me feel accepted in who I am, and the encouragement to grow as a person.

Growing up is perpetual. Despite that we grow physically as a child, we still continue to grow and learn new things every day of our lives that affect who we are.

2 thoughts on “Growing Up

Leave a Reply

